Burton vs Liverpool

Finally a mid-week game, and one that I really look forward to.

It’s never a good feeling losing to Burnley, but Kloop’s side can raise the moods for those LFC fans worldwide with a solid win in the League Cup/Cola-Cola cup/Mickey Mouse Cup, or whatever cup you wish to call it.

It is expected a host of changes would be made, and I am sure many would use it to stake a claim in the starting eleven with a point to prove.

Alexandra-Trend-Arnold (a.k.a ATA) is one young lad I who love to see starting, likely at right back, alongside summer signing Matip. I expect Lovren to partner him if Lucas isn’t deemed fit to start. Moreno/Milner at left-back, because no one else can play there.

In midfield is where it gets a little more interesting.

Kevin Stewart impressed me in pre-season, with him aiming his tackles perfectly, and when he wins the ball back, he lay it off to a forward player, rather than playing the safe option going back to a defender or square to his midfield partner.

He did play a few good through balls against Barcelona if my memory didn’t fail me, and I think it is one trait that Kloop has worked with him during the pre-season.

Grujic should start to gain much needed match fitness, I have very high hopes for him, potential wise as good as Gerrard I would say.

Can might start as well, so it might be Stewart and Can holding with Grujic having the license to push forward.

On the wings, I do hope Markovic gets the chance to prove his worth, he seems to drop out of favour with Kloop as the pre-season progresses.

Wijnaldum could start on the other flank, or even Origi or Ings. I do hope both the strikers start though, especially Ings as he missed a hell lot of football last season, and would love to see him regain that confidence.

The only player who I think shouldn’t be starting is Wisdom, he was so poor against Mainz and looked out of depth. Expect Kloop to ship him out soon if there are suitors around. But as usual, I may not be right always.

Let me know your thoughts below.

 

Leave a Reply

